Will drawing with pencil and paper go extinct?

hand drawing As I sit here in front of my computer, using a tablet to draw out a few new coloring pages for my website, my mind wonders onto the question, “Will my grand kids learn to draw on paper? Will it become a thing of the past? In my lifetime will I see a shortage of drawing pencils and paints because not enough people want to purchase them?

A flash of memory just swarmed my head and made me laugh that fits perfectly into this subject. Not too many years ago when I was in college for my degree in graphic arts, I was forced to take a lettering class. I think they were just trying to keep the old guy busy until his retirement.  We actually had to draw the letters and all their serifs. Can you imagine? At that time I was thinking this was such a waste of time since computers can do this for us. Since those college years, I’ve learned to put away my airbrush, that I used to restore photographs as well as put away my dyes and brushes that I used to fix photographic negatives. I’ve seen the professional portrait photography business go out of business because we can all use our cell phones at wedding and graduations. What a shame but at the same time, photoshop has been a blessing and an adventure.

My mind battles that drawing with paper and pencil is such a sacred basic it can’t possibly be abandoned much like cursive writing. But as I sit here with the stylus in hand, I glance over to my art table where my pencils and paper are all laid out begging for my attention, I see I already have abandoned them myself.  Now I’m feeling bad about my old friends. I think I’ll go play with them today.

Don’ forget to download the free kids drawing lessons. I’m working on a few more so check back from time to time.  Whether you use them to guide the kids on the computer to draw or if you dare, give them a crayon, enjoy the creating time together.

Ann

Save 15% off the cover price of Hideaway Hilda Learns to Share. Offer ends Oct. 17th. Follow this link to get your copy today!

http://www.anartistview.net/The%20Enchanted%20Door.html

 

Leave a Reply

